EIS-FELA strike action from April 2022

Borders College four main campuses

UPDATED: Tuesday 17th May 2022

EIS-FELA is the trade union for lecturing staff, and have announced that they will undertake a national programme of strike action at colleges throughout Scotland across various dates.

These national days of strike action are as a result of a failure to agree on a cost of living pay rise for lecturing staff. The employer offer exceeds the 2% recommended for public sector employees and within the current fiscal landscape, it is already an offer that colleges are not able to afford.

During this period, Borders College will remain open and provide learning for the vast majority of our students, however a minority of lessons will be disrupted. This is likely to include some school programmes. If your lesson is affected, you will be informed by a member of college staff. 

We are sorry for any disruption this may cause you and if you would like to understand more about why lecturers are striking, please speak to your student association. 

Confirmed Strike Days as of Tuesday 17th May

  • Tuesday 17th May
  • Wednesday 25th May
  • Monday 30th May,
  • Wednesday 1st June
  • Tuesday 7th June,
  • Thursday 9th June
  • Monday 13th June
  • Wednesday 15th June
  • Friday 17th June
  • Tuesday 21st June,
  • Thursday 23rd June 
  • Friday 24th June
  • Monday 27th June
  • Tuesday 28th June
  • Wednesday 29th June

 

 

As of 12th April:

EIS-FELA is the trade union for lecturing staff, and have announced that they will undertake a national programme of strike action at colleges throughout Scotland across various dates from 20th April 2022 - 26 May 2022.

The dates are:

  • Wednesday 20th April
  • Tuesday 26th April
  • Wednesday 27th April
  • Wednesday 4th May
  • Thursday 5th May
  • Tuesday 10th May - Cancelled for this day
  • Wednesday 11th May - Cancelled for this day.
  • Thursday 12th May
  • Tuesday 17th May
  • Wednesday 18th May - Cancelled for this day.
  • Thursday 19th May - Cancelled for this day.
  • Tuesday 24th May - Cancelled for this day.
  • Wednesday 25th May
  • Thursday 26th May - Cancelled for this day.
lecturer pay scale 1
lecturer pay scale 2
lecturer pay scale 3
lecturer pay scale 4
lecturer pay scale 5

Back to latest news